These cookies would have been way better if you had made them.

There are a lot of things I don’t understand about the dentist. Im sure theres a running joke for everyone about how the dentist will ask you something about you home life while their hands are inside your mouth so you can answer. The thing is that with my dentist they ask the question then stop what they’re doing so that I can answer, making the appointment twice as long.

I also don’t get how they can expect me to make an appointment six months in advance. I don’t know what days off I’m going to have six months from now, or what time of day will work best for me. Six months ago i was waking up at noon and working night shifts. Now i wake up between 5:45 and 8:00 am.

And how on earth do they remember so much about me. I walk in twice a year and they ask me specific questions about my life. They remember more than someone I saw a couple weeks ago. Do they remember that much about all the patients? She mentions today she works from 7:00 -7:00 with an hour long appointment for each patient that would be twelve people a day and thats a different twelve people every day for six months. Sure I’ve been going to the same dentists for the past fourteen years but still, I’m calling shinanigans.

One of the main points of todays visit was to tell them how much my teeth have been hurting every time I eat something sweet. I should probably stop eating stuff like cookies.

Which is totally fine because I have never been able to successfully make cookies. I think Ive had two batches of cookies turn out edible in my entire life, and I’m even counting the pre made cookie dough packs you can get in the refrigerated section at Safeway.

These took me a week to make and by the time I was finished I was unreasonably proud of myself.

Not going to lie, my sister probably did most the work on these ones.

I almost didn’t post this recipe, but I didn’t want anyone to have to miss out because of my lack of talent in the cookie business.

I know these cookies would be so good had someone else made them because I couldn’t stop eating the cookie dough!

Lately I’ve been working a lot with gum paste where I’m in, “roll out as thinly as possible” mode, and thats what I did. I rolled them to thin, thinking they might rise, which they didn’t, but I’d say that a good thing especially if you want to decorate them with royal icing.

Vanilla Bean Sugar Cookies                                                                            Print Recipe

Adapted from  bakedbree

Ingredients

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 sticks cold butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • vanilla bean seeded

Instructions

Cream together the sugar and cold butter. I know that usually recipes call for room temperature butter, but you want cold butter.

Add the egg, extract, and vanilla bean seeds.

Add the flour and baking powder. Mix until just combined. Make sure that you scrape the bowl.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface. The dough is going to be very crumbly, so knead it together.

Roll the dough out and cut out into shapes. Put the shapes on a parchment lined baking sheet and put in the freezer for 5 to 10 minutes.

Bake the cookies in a 350 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Cool completely before icing.

If you do want to go further an decorate them and need a good icing I would suggest the royal icing from sweetopia.net. That girl seriously knows whats she’s doing when it comes to cookies.

Leave a Reply

